Monica's Blog

The Paris Wife

Socratic Question #1

In the novel The Paris Wife Elizabeth “Hadley” Richardson spent some years trying to attain a career as a pianist. She later thought that she lacked talent and stopped pursuing music. Then in Paris, married to a busy writer, Ernest Hemingway, Hadley took up piano again and was preparing to perform at a local club. Yet again, Hadley cancelled her concert. Have you ever tried to succeed but backed away at the last second? Explain why or why not and the feelings you felt.

1 Comment

  1. I have never tried to succeed and then back away at the last minute. The reason that it has never happened is because it would completely contradict who I am. I thrive on success, and I really don’t believe I could ever live without it. That being said, you can’t succeed if you don’t try. To back away at the last minute would be just as bad as quitting to me. I would never succeed if I had the option to quit. Anything worth doing will be tough, but it will be worth it in the end. You need to live without regrets. Should I attempt to try something and not succeed, is it really failure? I would learn a lesson that could be valuable in the future to help me succeed. So in summary, I have never backed away from a challenge, nor will I ever back away from a challenge.

Leave a comment